Home » 5-2 diet » Friday 31 May 2013

Friday 31 May 2013

No excuse

For anyone that has ever lived in the “Green and Pleasant Land”, as Britain is sometimes called by the indigenous population, there is a very good and obvious reason why it’s so green: it bloody rains all the time !

I remember hearing from a work colleague shortly before I moved from the US to the UK, after spending 7 years in the Carolinas’ heat: “there are two things that you won’t need in the UK: air-conditioning for your house and a sprinkler system for your lawn.” And on my arrival in Sheffield, I remember my new neighbour telling me: “the most useful thing that you can buy to live under these climes is a good pair of wellies.”

After nearly 10 years in Sheffield, I confirm both statements unreservedly !

So, today, after a week of daily rain and temperatures failing to raise above 13C (for you Yanks out there, embrace Modern World units, at long last), I noticed that the temperatures were flirting with 20C. This could qualify for front page news in here.

And that is when it happened, and it all happened too quickly.

My friend J sends me a text, telling me that he’s organizing a BBQ at his house tonight. My wife is sick while 7-month pregnant, and our daughter is best pal with J’s daughter, so in a split second, I say yes, so I can take Cecilia out of the house and leave Coco to rest. Alex happy.

But then, a couple of hours laster, I remember in horror that today is my second day of fasting….

Look, Blog, I’m sorry, but I can’t deny my daughter an evening of sunshine (the sun sets at 21:22 today), my wife needs to rest, and I’ve taken next week off, so I need to celebrate and let loose a bit (J loves his drink) and now that the wheels are in motion, I can’t be the party-pooper, can I now ?

It’s the fault of this awful spring, which I’ve heard on the radio yesterday has been the coldest since the 60’s (I wasn’t even born back then.)

So, yes, I’ll break my fast tonight before the due time and I’ll be very happy to do so, for once.

No, I’m not making excuses.

I just… need to live my life to the fullest and make the most of Britain’s weather when it turns nice. (God knows it’s rare enough !)

One thing I will do though: I’ll change my fast days to Wednesday and Thursday.

Leave a Reply

